Life, Learning and the Photos taken in between.

Behind the Scenes Photos From The Bitter Cold Weekend

I decided not to shoot any competition skating this weekend for the Bitter Cold Showdown for a number of reasons. I brought limited equipment to this trip since I was sharing the car with 3 others and thats would be inconsiderate to take up all the trunk space. After the 12 1/2 hour drive we arrived too early for check in to which we decided too head over to the Coney for breakfast in order to kill time. Once we finally checked in the others fell out while I decided to tour the hotel to look for a location for some test shots. The hallway I chose was right by the weight room so I hot the weights for a quick work out. Once the fellas woke up we made our way to the park where I posted up on the Mini ramp to get some Shots of the skaters going in..I was able to get a few shots that I was proud of.

John Stephens  – Mute Air

Jeff Stockwell – Front Farv (hands touched 😦 )

Vinny Minton with one of the most stylish alley oop souls in the game

John Stephens – Switch Top Mistrial

Vinny Minton – Back Slide

Jose Henriquez – Top Mistrial

Victor Arias – Front Torque

Wakums – Fishbrain Stall

Jeff Stockwell – Alley oop Negative Mistrial

After a quick liquor run I made my way back to the hotel room to edit some photos while everyone else partied. Once back in the hotel I grabbed up the fellas to shoot some hotel portraits using a single speed light with a shoot through umbrella. I chose the shoot through umbrella to provide a softer light. I set my exposure for the ambient light and positioned my subjects for their individual portraits.

Wakums

Navin

Wakums counts his cash before making it rain

Navin looking like a fugitive.

Juan Ice Grilling Chris Brown

E Z Goezy

John Stephens

Jose

Jordan Baez

Moronie Moronie

Juan cant play Assassins Creed so he drinks away his pain

Kyle

Moronie again

Jash

Shortly after Navin Got Kicked in the Face.

I really didnt party this weekend, it was more work than play but thats was my intentions. We went back to the hotel to finish off the liquor and bullshit. The whole weekend we picked on Juan since he was the new guy.  After a night of drinking and youtube hunting for cat videos (you had to be there) we fell out but not after laughing the night away.

The next morning we cleaned up the room and made our way to the coney for breakfast before the long drive home which has become somewhat of a tradition of the past 5 years. While eating at the Coney we ran into some fellow New Yorkers also getting ready for the long ride back to the NY. The pics will say the rest.

Needless to say since your reading this, I made it home safe by 3am with work by 7am. What a great weekend in total, I think the competition wasn’t as exciting as previous years but I still enjoyed myself none the less. Until Next year…..Be On the Looked Out for Faces of Bitter Cold #2

Leave a Reply

