Life, Learning and the Photos taken in between.

Tour de Juice!

I was looking forward to a few shoots that got canceled so I needed to find something worth shooting. I decided to ride my bike through as many boroughs as I could for the day and shoot whatever caught my eye. My day started as I left the “Casa de Jugo” in the Bronx and made way to Hyper Mikes 1on 1 battle going down in Astoria Queens. the plan was to travel as light as possible meaning whatever I could fit comfortably in my North Face fanny pack. I usually have my arsenal of lenses packed in my lowepro bag which can get pretty heavy and not to comfortable when riding my bike. The equipment for the day would be My D90, 50mm 1.8 and a I brought along a Neutral Density filter to test out.

(Bike Courtesy of Stradacustoms.com)

The fastest way to Astoria from the Bronx requires a quick detour through Randalls Island which seemed to be mostly gated up, had some really great locations to shoot. This was my 1st time ever doing this ride and I have to say I did good time which for most guys is all that matters. I approached this pathway in Randall’s Island which lead to the Triboro bridge which in my opinion had a very interesting look. I framed my shot before hand and tried to get the shot as straight as possible without a tripod. I’m was pretty content with the outcome of the image and with that being said I moved on to the Astoria skate plaza.

I made it to the park in time or the battle, I just took some random shots while walking around the park. It felt pretty weird not having my skates at the park but today was all about photography. I don’t like shooting in packed skateparks because with so many people in attendance there is always distractions within the frame. I was able to get some shots of the fellas rolling for the blog. Check out more of what Hyper Mike is doing with his competition series at www.HyperMikeNYC.com

Jose Henriquez (Chuck Norris made him wear the shirt)

An expecting Ralphy Herrera with a Back Unity.

Pablo Munoz with a stylish Savannah.

Probably my favorite shot of the day, Angel with a Stale Fishbrain.

After the battle was over I made my way out of Queens and headed towards the City to see what kind of trouble I could get into. The route I took lead me through Central Park where I took time to get some Panning shots of the Cyclist riding through the park. I enjoy shooting panning shots but it is one of the harder shots to do. The ability to capture movement within a still shot is easier said than done and you will usually have more unusable shots that usable when shooting in this method.

As I excited central park from the Columbus Circle entrance, I made my way to what seems to be my summer rest spot, Union sq. Honestly riding through the city with good tunes in my ears takes my mind off a lot of the BS that may be going on in my life. Once I hit 23rd street I noticed a massive crowd  walking down 5th ave and massive crowds usually provide pretty good shots. As I entered the crowd to capture some shots I came to realize that that I was in the middle of a pre parade march. I’m a straight dude so i’m not really up on what’s going on in the gay community so after speaking to one of the Police Officers on parade duty I was told that the march is going down to Washington Sq Park.  For those of you who read this blog who aren’t from New York, Congress passed the same sex marriage law this past week which allows same sex marriage in NYC. This law will not go into affect until July 24th but what seemed like damn near the whole Gay community and supporters were celebrating in the streets of NYC. So what’s my take on Gay marriage you ask, fine i’ll tell you. I think there is too much going on in this world for us to stress someones sexual preference. Life is too short so do what makes you happy and let the shit talkers talk shit.

19th annual Dyke March

I finally made it to Union Sq where the street performers are always out and great to capture. I was pretty beat after the long ride so I decided to sit down and rest while I sipped gatorade and shot some photos.  You will always run into someone you know at union sq and if your the type of person who has no friends then bring a hacky sack to the square and you will instantly meet new people. I’ve seen it happen. There was also a breakdancing battle going down on the steps of Union Sq. Here are some of the shots I took while sitting at Union Sq.

Hacky Sack

The night ended as I took the ride back uptown. This was a long day of riding and photography and what is best after a long day…..

I was gonna sip on my Ballantine for the night but I wanted to try something different, not bad at all.

I took some pretty interesting shots at the 2011 Pride Parade which I will blog about maybe later today. Remember to follow the Blog on Twitter @UrDailyJuice.  Like and Share the Facebook Fan Page HERE .

Until Next time……..

One response

  1. wow, super shots!

    All the best

    June 27, 2011 at 4:06 pm

Leave a Reply

