Life, Learning and the Photos taken in between.

A Day of Portraits at River Ave Skate Plaza.

Rollerblading has been my #1 passion in life since I was 11 years old  and I’m fortunate to still be able to roll to this day. Waking up early to Rollerblade is something that I haven’t done in a long time so I figured once in a while wouldn’t kill me right….WRONG! After taking a number of spills at the park I decided to try an capture some portraits of  the people I roll with. It was one of the hottest days we’ve had in 2011 so a mixture of the heat and lack of red gatorade at the moment, took it’s toll on me.  For those of you who don’t know where River Ave skate plaza is, it’s located on 157st and River Ave a couple of blocks away from Yankee Stadium.  I was able to catch a couple of portraits of the fellas as they stopped to take a breather from skating. Capturing a portrait of someone while in the middle of a job, sport or anything where they are focused on that activity always gets great shots. You can get a feel of the frustration, stress, pain or excitement to name a few emotions. Skaters give some crazy expressions when focused on rolling and rolling only. Check out some of the shots I captured of the fellas while at river ave. Captured with a 50mm f/1.8 lens.

Johnny aka Papi Mumbles

Lou either before or after a crazy fall.

Brotha Nigel came out to roll, A fellow photographer and skater as well.

Carly is in his own world.

Mike is a sucka but after A Sweet victory over Oscar in S.K.A.T.E He deserves a pic….But you still a sucka!

After spending the majority of the day at River Ave, we ventured over to track ledge to end the day street skating, Track ledge will destroy your life if you fall on the rough pavement but the ledges slide so good like warm butter. I took the 1st hour to shoot before I put my skates back on to roll. I was able to capture a few good portraits at track ledge.

Lou spent 2 years helping to build Yankee Stadium.

Danny Figgz

Carly Pondering how he’s going to take over Yankee Stadium.

Ramelle Knight

I was able to capture some panning shots of Danny Figgz while at track ledge, For those of you who do not know what panning is, it’s a method of shooting which gives the feeling of motion. I have blogged about it before so if your interested in learning more feel free to look a my previous blogs. If you enjoy the blog, the images and content and you have facebook feel free to join the YourDailyJuiceBlog Fan Page.

Danny Figgz – Fishbrain for the streets.

Danny Figgz – Rocket Fishbrain

Until next time…….

One response

  1. clari

    Nice portraits! Awesome work as usual..

    May 10, 2011 at 6:56 pm

Leave a Reply

