Life, Learning and the Photos taken in between.

Sophia’s 1st Photos

The easiest most generic photographs require 2 words, “say cheese”.  The type of photography that I prefer is more candid and pure. The more comfortable your subject is, the easier shooting them will be. For this shoot my options were limited which made me think outside of  my comfort zone. Nelson is an old rollerblade buddy and long time friend who along with his lady Christina, just had their 2nd child and asked me if I would take some photos of her. I honestly felt honored to do so and after I made the mistake of forgetting about our 1st appointment I made sure this time I didnt miss it. Young Sophia is 3 or 4 weeks old and although I brought most of my equipment I decided to so try something totally different with these shots than what im used too.

For a while I wanted to do a blog called “The Minimalist Project” and that project requires me to do more with less. Anyone can get great images when they use all this fancy shmancy  equipment but  I wanted to capture quality shots with the bare minimum, Camera, lens, no flash just use whatever available ambient light and shoot away. It’s been argued by many that flash photography is not good for infants and im not one to take chance with babies. Once they reach 1 year old, kids are fair game and should be able to start washing dishes and pump gas.  So what I did here was use the available sun light coming from the window to light up the subject. Since the location that I was shooting only had a window on one side I had to find a way to get light on little Sophia with the amount of space provided. This is where the 12″ Impact Reflector Disc Soft Gold/White come into play. I used this small collapsable reflector dish to bounce the available sunlight from the background of Sophia to add highlights to her face.  Before bouncing the light, the shadows were really strong and contrasted on her face which I really dont feel is a good look for a baby.

So here are the shots that I captured of not only Sophia but also her big sister Gabby. Gabby was so photogenic and full of energy and I enjoyed shooting her. I think she enjoyed the reflector dish more than I did. So these images were captured with my Nikon D90 and a Nikon 50mm 1.8 prime lens with apertures valies set between 1.8 and 2.8 to create a shallow depth of field. All post production work was done in Adobe Lightroom 3. I went for a few different looks with each image just for fun. Nelson and Christina Loved the pics and that is goos enough for me.  Check them out.

Dont forget to Join the fan page On FaceBook YourDailyJuiceBlog Fan Page .

Until Next time.

One response

  1. Fetus

    These are amazing

    April 18, 2011 at 4:36 pm

Leave a Reply

