Life, Learning and the Photos taken in between.

Truck Stop Strobist Shoot.

I have stated before that I never had dreams of becoming a photographer, I picked up a camera to fill a void and to keep myself from the massive amount of drinking and partying that I was doing after my break up. So now I have the camera and it’s serving its purpose and the drinking and partying has lessened. Much like anything I do, I want to put 100% into it and be the best that I can be. 9 months after I picked up a camera I presented to you “YourDailyJuice”. This has been an amazing week for me and it keeps getting better as the days go by. I was told as a youngin, “Hard work pays off” and that is the damn truth. It’s amazing what dedication, patience and hard work can get you. The blog is spreading like wild fire and i just reached my 10,000 hit mark for the year. I had my 1st article published on Be-mag.com, made the front page of Rollernews.com and was given my 1st Photo journal for Believeinone.com all of this happened on the same day. Thank all of you for supporting what I do. As cheesy as it may sound, I do appreciate the love.  Now its time to get off the sentimental shit and focus back on the photos.

I figured since this photo did get me a photo journal for One Magazine, I would write about it and showcase some of the other photos taken that night. We pulled into this truck Stop after a good 6 hours on the road coming back from detroit and the 2011 Bitter Cold Showdown. All I have to say is 5 dudes, 1 chrysler sebring and a weekend of Coney Island food (Not Brooklyn Coney Island). Lets just say metaphorically speaking, we didn’t need to pull over for gas the whole way back….ewwwwwww yuck.  So here we were in this truck stop in Pennsylvania freezing our asses off when we noticed a sweet 9 step rail. Since the weather was so cold the rails was freezing so that would be out of the question after a long weekend of skating. We were sore from skating and the long ass drive. I believe it was Chito who said he would attempt it 1st, Will and Wakums was with it. They threw on the skates while I set up my flashes for this shoot.

The truck stop barely had available light so before they made any attempts at the gap I would have to get my settings correct so none of the shots would be wasted. Skating shots differ from portraits in so many ways, you want to get it right the 1st time so whoever your shooting doesn’t have to do it over and over risking fatigue and injury.  I needed a fill light and a light for my subject so I set up the good old SB-600’s  and took a couple of test shots to to get the correct exposure. In conditions like this a light meter would make my life soo much easier but what fun would it be if it was easier right? I set my fill light at 1/16 while the main light was on TTL settings. I set my ISO to 1000 which I knew would give me much more noise in the shot but what could I do, it was dark. Aperture is f6.3 at a shutter speed of 1/200th of a sec. Now that the easy part has been taken care of, here comes the hard part. Capturing a moving object in total darkness would be my goal for this shoot. I had already had the way I wanted the shot in my head now to implement the actual picture.

Will was the 1st to attempt the gap while I patiently waited and froze my balls off. I wanted to get the shot the 1st time and keep it moving or “On to the next one” some might say. Will is not the tallest skater out there but he charges at any obstacle with so much confidence and this gap was no different. I caught this mute 180 to the street.

Next up I caught Chito airing the gap. now I give Chito so much props because the dude is 31 and still attempting gaps. The way my knee’s are, I wouldn’t attempt that.

Last but not least was Wakums, Im not sure which of his personalities did the gap but much props to it. I captured 2 shots of  Wakums this night the 1st of which made it to One Magazine for my Photo Journal.

Wakums – 180 Mute to street

Wakums – 180 Stale to street.

I take alot of skating photos but that’s not the type of photography I want to be known for. The majority of my friends Rollerblade and if I can give them quality shots of their hard work why not. I showcase Rollerblading because this sport is my passion and I would like to educate those of you who may not be aware of what Rollerblading is. I Rollerblade and I shoot photos, this is me in a nut shell and wat you just finished reading is Your Daily Juice. Until Next time. Forever F.T.S

Shardy.

Side Note : If your interested in viewing any of the articles I had published on other sites last week, the links are below.

http://www.be-mag.com/article/1850-Faces-of-Bitter-Cold-Showdown-by-Shardy-Nieves

http://www.believeinone.com/?p=860

6 responses

  1. Gabe

    Nice work! Pictures are official those dudes went in that night, mad props to my fellow skaters and to the photographer Sharty, aggressive inline lives!

    March 6, 2011 at 3:35 am

  2. chito

    Awesome shots, great backing, much props to my fellow sk8rs it was an epic trip. would do it a million more times! No ifs ands or buts. SHARTY much luv for the hook up thanx a million I guess you found your calling kiddo you are a true scholar my dude. great night for a session can’t wait to get back out their an catch more pic & clips!

    March 6, 2011 at 5:56 am

  3. Demary Santiago

    Hey its Dee.. Just wanted to see if u would send me pics of me from Dj bday. Please and thank u..

    March 18, 2011 at 10:33 pm

    • Jo0se

      I shot those pics with Jigs camera not mine, he has all the shots.

      March 22, 2011 at 6:24 am

  4. Kat

    Love the shots and congrats on the calls and positions that were granted. xo

    March 20, 2011 at 2:55 am

  5. Mike

    If you were shooting TTL with an Sb-600, why didn’t you use high-speed sync? It would have helped you cut the ambient and freeze your subjects better. Not trying to hate, but they’re soft.

    March 30, 2011 at 6:52 pm

Leave a Reply

