Life, Learning and the Photos taken in between.

Bitter Cold Trade Show Portraits

This year I wanted to do something different with my photography for The Bitter Cold Showdown. As excited as I was to get on the floor and get shots of the amazing skating that was going on, there were so many photo and videographers all looking for that one great shot to hopefully be published in One Magazine or Be-mag. I did however bring the Big Doofy lens with me which would have gotten me some great shots from almost anywhere in the park.  I decided  rather not to scramble for that one great shot but to take numerous shots of the Pro and Am skaters while they are not skating.  I wanted to travel as light as possible for this assignment since the trade show is super packed and I value my equipment. I decided to go with the bare minimum setup for low light portraits (my personal preference). I loaded up the Nikon D90 with my 50mm 1.8 and Nikon SB-600 equipped with Sto-fen omni bounce diffuser. Travel light, get in for the shot and get out.

I walked into the packed trade show and proceded with my portrait mission. I have to tell you, some of the pro skaters in this industry are too full of themselves. You are not Lindsey Lohan and the photographers are not paparazzi. So enough about the suckas that were too good to take portait shots, I will focus on the ones who I captured. Now it was crazy in there so I grabbed as many portraits as I could with  the amount of time that I had but keep in mind that I did com late. My take on portraits is not the “Say Cheese” method, that sucks and is very generic. I like the candid shots that give you a feel of the Subjects personality even if you do not know them personally. The aperture I selected was 2.8 and my focal point was the subject eye ball. A blurry eyeball is all it can take to ruin a portrait and at 2.8 the Bokeh effect (blurred out background) is really strong. Since I was using a flash I underexposed the ambient light to compensate for the flash. Like I stated in one of my previous blogs, I often show the image to whomever I am shooting directly after I shoot.

I decided not to do Black and White photos because I really wanted to focus on the correct colors and skin tones in post production. More often than not, I spend the most time removing blemishes and boogers than anything else. Yea I have been up more noses in lightroom than I would prefer but its all part of the job. Here are some of the Shots that I had captured during the trade show. I also did a separate strobist portrait shoot after the trade show for Be-mag and I will link that once it’s up on the site. So for tose of you who helped me for that and I shot, the pics will be on there.

5 responses

  1. Ray Mendez

    Well done Sir…

    February 28, 2011 at 9:11 pm

  2. clarii

    Doin what you do best… awesome shots

    March 1, 2011 at 2:46 am

  3. Pingback: » Bittercold Showdown XI | Rollernews.com

  4. Pingback: » Bittercold Showdown XI | Rollernews.com

  5. Tito

    You did it brotha and the shots are truly amazin!

    March 3, 2011 at 1:42 pm

Leave a Reply

