Life, Learning and the Photos taken in between.

Concert Photography with Ninja F**kin Sonik!!!

When they say “Ninja F**kin Sonik” The crowd yells “Sonik F**kin Ninjas. Some may know him as Rev McFly, Ben Robey, or Jah Jah Brown, but I know him as Jah Starr. My brother from back in the mullaly skate park days and the 1st dude in the hood riding USD skates. Much has changed about Jah Jah  since those days from  putting down the rollerblades and picking up a skateboard, to now with fellow members Telly and Teen Wolf forming the world known group called Ninja Sonik. Fame has not changed Jah at all, he is the same dude that he’s always been with slightly more facial hair. I have never had the opportunity to shoot a concert for many reason but the most important one being that I dont got to concerts.  I received a last minute (3 hours prior) phone call yesterday from a fellow Flip The Script member about attending a Ninja Sonik Performance feat Johnny Nelson in Williamsburg BK to grab some photos. I rarely pass up the opportunity to shoot and since I never shot a Performance I figured F**k it, why not. The information that I gathered via numerous internet sources all stated that flash photography should not be used during any concert environment because it is frowned upon. Either way I still brought my SB-600 just in case since I had no idea what I was in for. So the venue for the performance was called  the Williamsburg Music Hall (66 N 6th st, BK) a concert hall that was not so big but gave enough space to capture some good shots. I loaded up my Nikon D90 with the 70-200mm V.R. 2.8 aka The Big Doofy Lens and began to take some test shots. testing for the proper settings that I would be shooting with throughout the night. Like I have stated in my previous blogs, I am not an expert in any form of photography that I speak on, I simply write about what worked for me at that moment with the resources that I have at my disposal.  So the Settings I had dialed in was ISO 1600, F/3.5 at 1/50th of a second. Now shooting at a High ISO with most DSLR cameras produce high noise within your photo especially under low light conditions.  High noise will give you more grain which in some cases can work for the photo but in others it just gives you more work to do in post. Since I wasn’t using flash I had to make sure the shots that I had captured was under the available incandescent  lighting. I always prefer quality over quantity so I never fire off shot after shot, rather I wait for the best available shot and take it. It works for me and at the end of the day you have to do what works best for you. I chose a shutter of 1/50th of a sec because that was the setting which allowed the most light in with the least amount of motion blur.  Flashes freeze the subject which always allows for a sharper picture but  for shooting without a flash I think the pics came out pretty damn good.  I captured a few shots of Jah Jah and fellow Ninja Sonik member Telly AKA Bathroom Sex. I think I did pretty good for my 1st performance shoot and I had a great time. It’s a good thing I dont drink while shooting because they know how to put on a performance which makes you want to party. Shout out to Ninja Sonik for showing love to not only me but the Flip The Script crew also. After his performance Jah Jah made his way to Sutra in the City and proceeded to DJ the rest of the night away. He is Definitely one of the hardest working acts in the industry. Respect! Check out their website http://www.ninjasonik.com.

Jah Jah aka Ben Robey

Telly aka Bathroom Sex

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

5 responses

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Concert Photography with Ninja F**kin Sonik!!! « Your Daily Juice -- Topsy.com

  2. Pingback: Concert Photography with Ninja Fkin Sonik – Ninjasonik

  3. Chubby Johnson

    Shots came out really fresh ( jah didn’t look like swamp thing in none of the shots ) lol …. but yea dude its good to see old friends find each other on new endevers . Deejay aka Chubby Johnson aka fats the savage .. out

    February 24, 2011 at 6:16 pm

  4. Tito

    JAH will always be the truth – I miss rolling with that guy, but he’s doin his thing! Great pics Shardy!

    February 24, 2011 at 10:44 pm

  5. Pingback: Concert Photography with Ninja F**kin Sonik!!! – Ninjasonik

Leave a Reply

