Life, Learning and the Photos taken in between.

Strobist In The City.

It’s amazing how at times the same things that can distract you from  your passions can also be used as an inspiration. I haven’t really been focused on my photography as of lately due to lack of motivation, stress and blah blah blah yadda yadda yadda. I wanted to do something amazing this month being as this week makes a year that I have been shooting photos. However I have spent the majority of the month neglecting my  Nikon. So for todays shoot I met up with fellow rollerblader, photographer and long Island native Ryan Loewy. Ryan studies Photography at SVA (School of Visual Arts). After what should have been a 40 minute  train ride to Union Square, I finally met up with Ryan almost an hour and a half later (MTA Sucks balls). We took a walk down to 14th and 2nd to a tiny juice bar which is named “Daily Juice”. Ryan wanted to get some shots of me in front of this tiny store front and since the weather was great i figured why not. 1st Ryan captured some shots with his Mamiya rb67 medium format camera (Anxious to see how those will come out) then loaded up his Nikon D300 with the big Doofy lens and captured some digital shots from across the street.

(Mamiya rb67 medium format camera).

Photo by Ryan Loewy

After the shots were taken we took a walk to this burger spot off of St Marks for lunch and Camera talk. We made our way back to Union Sq and set up the SB 600’s to get some shots using off camera lighting. What made this shoot work great for us is that we both use Nikon cameras and were able to sync Nikons CLS (Creative lighting System) through both of our camera bodys. For those of you who think i’m speaking a foreign language, we both were able to program the off camera flashes within our cameras without the need of wireless transmitters.  So the shots I focused on for the night was of Ryan smoking his Cigarette by the horse monument in Union Sq. The speed light was able to capture the texture of the smoke while lighting the subject as well. I actually did learn some tips from Ryan about fill lighting and the proper settings to help capture the best lighting.  Below are a few shots that I captured of Ryan, all post production was done using Abobe lightroom 3, shots taken with Nikon D90 w/50mm 1.8 lens and 2 Nikon SB 600 speedlights.

Some Black and Whites.

So much like Stella, I got my groove back and i’m fully focused ( pun intended) on my photography again. The weather in NYC has been nice and I have 2 new lenses that I will be reviewing over the next week. The Nikon 35mm 1.8 and the Sigma 10-20mm f4.  For my skating family, as you know the 11th annual Bitter Cold Showdown is coming up in a week so I will be out in Detroit shooting my  cameras life away capturing content for those of you who are unable to attend. Updates on the event and trade show will be posted on yourdailyjuiceblog.com as well as some interviews wit your favorite pros.

Oh by the way, I did shoot a self portrait a few weeks back that I am pretty proud of. As many of you may know i dont sleep at night and the majority of my best shots happen after hours when the world is drooling on their pillows. Here is my latest installment of my “Self Portrait Collection”.

If you have any feedback please feel free to leave it and i’ll definitely get back to you.

If your interested in seeing more of Ryans work check out his Flickr Account @ flickr.com/photos/ryanloewy.

One response

  1. clarii

    Dude! Ur the shit!

    February 17, 2011 at 11:47 pm

Leave a Reply

