Life, Learning and the Photos taken in between.

Portraits with the Fellas

As with writers, Photographers (myself particularly ) also suffer from writers block. Since I am doing both writing and photographing I will use that as the excuse for my absence from blogging last week. However I am back this week with a freshly squeezed serving of “Your Daily Juice”. Today I had some friends come over to the Casa De Jugo, for numerous reasons. First I was getting a house call for this small tattoo I was going to receive.  Second would be a therapy session to release that inner stress that we all have in side.  My apartment or shall I say my reclining sofa has held some of the best therapy session for not only myself but my friends also.  A beer and open minded conversing always does the trick for me. After my tattoo was finished I decided to pull out my Impact collapsible backdrop and convert my big living room into a small studio. Now as far as lighting goes, I was missing a light stand and flash so I only had one light stand with a sb600 flash and shoot through umbrella.  Now since I am using the black backdrop I usually would  have a separation light between the background and subject  but for today I will make due with what I have. I GOT THIS!!!

So what was the concept and motivation for this shoot? I had none, I just wanted to shoot and had two “Models” at my disposal who are always looking for new Facebook default photos. So here we go, My camera setup for these Images were ISO 200, F 2.8 shot at 70mm  shutters 1/500 of a sec.  I did a few test shots to get the right shutter speed and this was the result I felt most comfortable with.  I pulled out my Rosco Gel Filters and added  2 red strips over a light to give off a reddish neon look.

Probably my favorite shot of the night. It came out pretty sweet if you ask me. I mean yea the second light probably would have made this a great photo but like I said, I am working with what I have. I focused in on my subject (Edgar) and once all my settings were dialed in and lens was in focus, I shut off the over head lights and used only the flash to provide light. Also when using this backdrop, I usually ask the subject to stand at least 2.5 to 3 feet away from the backdrop to prevent any shadowing from the flash on the background. It will give you a solid background providing you have enough room to do so….Next

If you look at the lower portion of the photo you will see the Rosco get strip illumination. Not too shabby.

These Next two shots I removed the umbrella and used the Interfit Strobies Mini Beauty Dish (B&H $29.95) with a mount for my SB-600 ($7.95).

Now it’s been said that a picture says 1000 words so i’m sure you can tell what Sizer (Toy) is trying to say. His facial expression says more than words could ever express.

I will call this one “Thoughts of Cuffing”. Totally candid shot that I chose out the set because I felt it showed true feeling. Like I stated earlier, this photo shoot started out as a therapy session.  What can I say about today’s shoot? Always good to chill with my peoples and even better when they tolerate me shoving a lens and flashes up in their face.  Edgar and Toy have so much character in their facial expressions that I always produce great photos of  the two. Hopefully I am off this writers block and I can get some more blogs in here and there.  My next post will be of some shots I took at DJ Neo’s “2nd Sunday NYC ” event that I shot a week ago.

P.S. I am leaving you with this awesome Project that was shot during the night of  A photo class that I had taken. Photo editing by none other than FETUS (www.under20ver.com). If your looking for a inexpensive introductory to photography course contact me Via Email @s.nievesphotography@gmail.com . The instructor is great, knowledgeable (not me) and teaches a hell of a course.  I even learned a few things that I didn’t already know.


Until Next Time

Shardy

3 responses

  1. Jessica

    that last picture is so hot!

    January 19, 2011 at 7:36 pm

  2. davengo

    yooo shardy this is awesome!! i am reading your blog now and will continue to do so regularly. i found out about this through ryan loewry so big ups to him.

    keep doing your thing your improving a lot man.

    February 17, 2011 at 10:13 am

  3. clarii

    TALENT is all I have to say!

    February 17, 2011 at 11:46 pm

Leave a Reply

