Life, Learning and the Photos taken in between.

1st shots with Nikon’s 10.5mm Fish Eye.

I shoot Nikon, plain and simple. So whenever I get the opportunity to test out new Nikon or Nikkor  lenses I take it. So I recently acquired a Nikon 10.5mm 2.8 DX fish eye lens from Sam DeAngelis, a fellow Tri state area photographer and a recent converter to the Canon movement (Thanks Sam).  Now for those who read this and aren’t aware of most of the photography mumbo jumbo, I try to write in such a way that you get the basic jist of things.  So with that being said let’s move on, A DX lens would be a lens that can only be used on a camera with a cropped sensor and not a FX or full frame sensor. A fish eye lens on the other hand,is a wide-angle lens that takes in an extremely wide, circular or hemispherical  image. Now I really didn’t know what I was going to use this lens for since its more of a specialty lens but for me the adventure is always in the doing. Now 10.5mm mean I would have to get extremely close to my subject to get a clear image while the actual fish eye effect adds a more rounded look to the image.  I decided to take some test shots of some friends at a video premiere that I attended (Previous blog) to get some test images to work with once I got home.  At 1st glance this lens looked very small and strange, has a small lens cover with no threads to apply a lens filter.

Since this is a Nikon lens with the aperture of 2.8, you know you’re getting some really good glass and a lens that’s great in low light situations. The motor is pretty quick with my Nikon D90  and very sharp at 12 mega pixels.  So onto the photos.

This shot of Angel was taken with My Nikon SB-600 on TTL mode at ISO 1250 f/4 and a shutter speed of  1/320th of a second blah blah blah.  I could have raised the aperture up so his face wasn’t so blown out but overall not bad with the flash.

Now this photos was either to promote Johnny’s aka Papi Mumbles Reggaeton mix tape for the streets or his line of Pernil flavored Blunt Wraps. Either way this was shot with very low lighting in the subway station of NYC.  ISO 1250, f/2.8 and a shutter of 1/60th of a second.  I converted this image to back and white because I felt like it and that’s my final answer on that matter.

The last shots I took of the night were of my God daughter Heaven-Monroe. I did use my Nikon speedlight for these two images, however I pointed the flash head towards the ceiling to get some fill light since the ambient light really wasn’t helping (rarely ever does).  Both are shot at ISO 1250, f/2.8 and shutter of 1/320th of a second. I like how I was able to capture her child like innocence while still maintaining a sharp low light photo.

Overall I had a great time shooting with the fish eye lens. It’s not really a lens for portraits, I still would recommend the Nikon 35mm or 50mm 1.8 for all your portrait needs. If you’re looking to capture wide scenic shots then this is the lens you may want to try.  I don’t know if the 10.5mm Fish Eye is  a lens that I would carry with me on a daily basis.  Still a great lens for my collection, I can’t wait to capture some skating shots with it. My next installment, I will focus on HDR images and give my opinion on them. Please feel free to post any comments or feedback that you have, I take criticism very well..or do I?

Until next time people.

Leave a Reply

