Life, Learning and the Photos taken in between.

Photo Shoot for “myTTOOS Blazin Chicks”

So I was asked to Shoot a few images for this online Tattoo site thats advertises on Face Book. This would be my 1st time shooting for outside of what i’m used too but I always like a challenge. I honestly didn’t do any research on the site or the format of how they like the images.  Thanks to Melanie for letting us use her Bachelorette pad and also being my 1st assistant. The model and my subject for the day would be Val, her choice of wardrobe would be scantily clad which revealed whatever needed to be photographed and left little to the imagination… Since these photos were shot in a smaller studio apartment the over head fluorescent lighting gave much unwanted shadows in around the eyes. The setup I used for this day was a Nikkor 18-70mm f3.5-4.5 and my 50mm Nikon F1.8 prime lens as well as 2 Nikon SB-600 Speed lights.  The 1st set of images came out ok but didn’t really  have the feel of what the Site was looking for so I changed to the 50mm  and shot at the shutter speed of 1/60 with a ISO of 400 and no flash only the over head fluorescent lighting. I chose to focus less on the full frame of the subject rather get closer to the Key points of the shots which were the Skin Art.

I chose to showcase this piece for 2 reasons, 1st the artwork is amazing (Tattoo Artist: Base – Tuff City, Bronx, N.Y). The Piece is from a Tool Album cover. 2nd I feel the shallow depth of field helped bring out the tattoo more while the contrast in the blur effect directs more focus on the art and less on the boobs.  Now this was shot on manual mode where I have full control of ISO, Shutter Speed and Aperture.  That’s how I personally learned how to shoot and won’t shoot any other way.

The next image I felt had a more Modern look to it and I chose grey scale just for that reason. I feel it brought out fishnet stocking and the and heals with a more subtle approach to the tattoo on the lower right ankle. Once again this was shot with only the over head fluorescent lighting and a 50mm lens with the aperture of  f.8 and shutter speed of 1/60. I feel that combination worked great for this image. A touch of Adobe Light Room and i’m happy with the final product.

Overall the shoot was interesting to say the least. I got to test the waters with my Austin Powers photography skills and got a lot of great images. I anxious to do another shoot similar to this one and compare the images to see if I have learned from my previous mistakes. I wish Val luck on her entry and once again shout out to Melanie for being one of the coolest people under 5ft.

This is where I end this blog, I hope I didn’t ramble on too much.

High Five and I’m Out

Shardy Nieves

One response

  1. dexter

    Is that u in the pic of the tool eye? I love this tattoo I have it as well its my favorite piece.

    August 17, 2011 at 5:20 am

Leave a Reply

