Life, Learning and the Photos taken in between.

In home Studio shoot with Rim lighting and Johnny.

So after coming home and getting much needed rest from my long W.R.S. weekend, my 1st task since my return home was to be a parent chaperon for my daughters school trip to queens to see the Chines Acrobats. Of course I brought my camera with a few lenses to practice shooting in low light environments such as this. Yea that really didn’t work out well for me so I wont even go further with this. I just have to give much respect for concert Photographers.  now back to the title of this blog before i ramble on.  Johnny came over to drop off my spare keys so of course I never miss an opportunity to test out new shooting styles as well as give people me Face Book default photos.  Tonight I wanted to try Rim lighting and since I recently got some new equipment I was thirsty to use it. Rim lighting is where you highlight the edges which gives more of a silhouette look. I moved out the couches from my living room and set up my 8×16 impact black back drop, two flash stands with shoot through umbrellas and tripod for the camera. My living room is pretty big but not big enough to shoot this properly but that wouldn’t stop me. Johnny stood about 2 feet in front of the back drop to try a reduce any flash glare that would bounce onto the back drop. I wanted this image to be as black as possible only highlighting the edges.  Here was the final product, shot @ ISO 500, 50mm f/4.5 1/1000 sec shutter speed. I was happy with the result for the limited space that I was given but I know I can do better with wider space.

(Johnny, oh you fancy huh)

Here are some other shots I took Sporting my “I Shoot RAW” shirt by Jared Polin @ http://www.froknowsphoto.com . Supporting his site as much as I can. Did i mention how much I hate shooting self portraits? Notice the Nikon 70-200 vr 2.8 lens aka The Big Doofy Lens.

Johnny doing his Jay Z album cover

Get your shirt @ http://www.Froknowsphoto.com

The Big Doofy lens

Hope you enjoyed, Until the next blog..

High Five and I’m Out.

3 responses

  1. Nelson Mercado Jr.

    This is my new favorite website.

    November 27, 2010 at 10:31 am

  2. aj

    photos are looking really crisp shardy …………. keep it up ……..

    November 27, 2010 at 3:35 pm

  3. Jo0se

    Wooohoooo!

    November 27, 2010 at 3:59 pm

Leave a Reply

