Life, Learning and the Photos taken in between.

Fall in Central Park 2010.

So I had some ideas that I wanted to capture through my lens which required some outdoor shooting on my part.  I put forth the word through none other than the most socialy networked Internet site “Facebook”. I had about 4-5 people confirm that they would come out and be my model for this project so of course I was pretty excited. I invited some other Photographers that I knew but the majority of them were tied up.  So Thursday morning arrived,  my Lowepro bag was fully packed as I anticipated my shoot. I arrived to Central Park around 1pm with not a response from anyone that was supposed to come. So I said my favorite phrase, “Whatever F**k it!” and started out with my day. I got a text from Kalo “Kiko” Victorian, asking me for my location so we could link up. not to long after we met up on Broadway and 72nd and made our way to Central Park.  Since I really didn’t have the subjects that I planned to shoot I had to make due with what I had and thats the area I excel at.. My 1st shot was at the entrance to the park where the majority of the sidewalk was closed for production of a John Lennon special. I decided to shoot the entrance of the park from  a different visual perspective. Shot at 35mm, ISO 500, f/6.3 my Focal point was the yellow carriage.

Making my way towards the band shell in Central Park, I came across this small wood shelter known as “Wagner Cove”. The many years tht I have been visiting Central Park, this has always been one of my favorite landmarks. “Fun Fact for ya” The original shelters date from the Park’s first years, when rowboats would cross the Lake, picking up passengers at one of the six shelters at the edge of the Lake and dropping them off at another.

Shot with my 70-300 2.8 VR aka “The Big Doofy Lens” at 70mm, f6.3, @ ISO 500. Probably one of my favorite shots of the the day. Next we made our way to ” Bethesda Terrace” to try and get more scenic shot looking more like a typical NYC tourist with the big DSLR’s and back pack. I saw the opportunity to break out my flash stand and shoot a couple portrait shots. A flash umbrella + 8ft flash stand + Central Park wind = Not gonna happen.  Basically we had to move within the tunnel to get the shot since the wind kept knocking over my flash. I think it was my best decision since the background played a big part in the image even though it was blown out, check it out.

For these shots I chose a strobist setup (Off camera flash setup) with a bounce umbrella, My SB-600 was set to m 1/2, I borrowed one of Kiko’s lens the 24-70mm 2.8 where I shot at 60mm, ISO 800 f/2.8. Not bad huh.

So after spending a good 3 hours in the park, we made our way to the streets of NYC to get some night shots in and also meet up with a few Skaters down on wall street. We exited the park on Columbus circle where I was testing out some shooting methods but couldn’t pass up on the opportunity to shoot this very simple but unique park bench located in the very center of Columbus Circle.

Shot @ 24m, ISO 500, f/2.8 with simple editing in Adobe Lightroom, definitely in the top 5 of my favorite shots of the day. We hopped on the NYC’s Iron Horse (train) and headed to Times Square to get some shots but I honestly do not like how my shots came out. They all looked like typical times square shots but I was particularly satisfied with one shot I took in the Subway station in Times Square. I got the idea for this shot from Cameron Frittz. He is an amazing  photographer from Texas who recently moved to NYC who I recently met while ice skating at Bryant Park.  Check out his work @ http://cameronfrittz.com .

This was taken @ 24mm, ISO 400, f.14 while located at the very front of the subway platform.  Basically my day was over once we got on the train since I was physically drained and the food we just ate was now giving me the itis. Over all I enjoyed the day and captured some amazing shots which received great reviews on Facebook.  I cant wait for the first snow storm so I can go out shooting. I want to thank Kiko for coming out with me and lending me his lens and being my model, sometime you really do more with less. For those who was supposed to come out and didn’t make it to this shoot, “SUCKS TO BE YOU DUDE”, you missed out on a entertaining and informative day. Hopefully my next blog will be covering a Maternity shoot that I will be doing for a friend who is about to give birth. It’s my 1st time doing a Maternity shoot so it should be very interesting to say the least. I’m going to leave you with some shots of me taken by Kiko while I was setting up (For those who do not know what I look like). I want to take a minute and thank those of you who take time out and read this Blog, I put a lot into this and i’m not used to the whole Blogging movement. Also those of you who believe in me and support my work whether it’s as a hobby or a profession, I have a good 10 months behind a camera and learned everything  I know through everyday shooting, fellow photographers and internet tutorials.

High Five and I’m Out!

Shardy Nieves

***Coming soon http://www.ShardyNieves.com***

4 responses

  1. Lali

    This shoot is by far my favorite one.. Like I’ve said before, you’ve improved so much in such a short period of time. Keep it up and keep em comin!!

    =)

    November 27, 2010 at 8:06 pm

  2. Clari

    Amazing

    November 28, 2010 at 4:00 am

  3. Pingback: Late Night Long Exposure « Your Daily Juice

  4. Myra's voice.

    Nice.

    October 18, 2011 at 6:30 am

Leave a Reply

