Life, Learning and the Photos taken in between.

Black and White, Vol 1

Good morning (or night depending where you are), a recent project I wanted to take a shot at was black and white (monochrome) portraits with my Nikon 50mm f1.8 lens. This is probably the best lens that I own to date for shooting portraits.  i’m working on a Black & White portrait portfolio so if anyone wants to shots then feel free to hit me up.  The photos I chose to present to you are of my Brother Sigham and his wife Marisella “Skinny”, which I took during my daughters 10th birthday party. The shots were taken mid day so the ambient light was pretty strong which is the reason why I decided to shoot without a speed light.

This 1st image was shot @ ISO 200 with a shutter speed of 1/500 of a sec at f 2.8. My focal point (point of interest) is Sigham and I chose this image because of the clarity of the subject and the overall outcome of the full image.  Overall I prefer shooting portraits rather than action or landscapes because I feel it allows you to control your image and get more creative with the final product from within the camera.  Some people may feel otherwise however i’m not here to focus on them.

This next shot was also taken with the same settings of ISO 200 at f2.8 however I did raise the shutter speed to 1/1000 sec.  It may be very slightly noticeable  but my focal point in this shot is not my brother, rather his wife.  Skinny is the subject that is in focus with the background blurred out. These 2 images and the majority of my shots are touched up with Adobe Lightroom 3 unless I am going for more of an animated look or want to do something wacky to the shot, that’s when I will use Adobe cs4. I did use the brush to soften up the skin which helps remove any minor blemishes, the major blemishes I usually use the spot removal tool until I learn a better way. I am going to try to post more portraits using the Nikon 50mm f1.8 lens. I did recently set up a little home studio which hopefully will allow me to shoot more with the cold weather approaching. Thanks for reading  and hopefully I didn’t confuse you too much. Once again I am not a professional photographer, this blog helps me create a timeline of my work so I can track my progression to better improve my skills. Until next time.

High Five and I’m Out

One response

  1. Myra's voice.

    Simply, beautiful. Great shot and beautiful family.

    The eyes have it. Thank you.

    October 18, 2011 at 6:22 am

Leave a Reply

